One of world’s most reputable and notable global architecture award programmes The International Architecture Awards has acknowledged the Maarjamäe Memorial to the Victims of Communism, created by the team led by Kalle Vellevoog, Jaan Tiidemann and Tiiu Truus, as one of world’s best projects in the category of museums and cultural buildings. It is the first time an Estonian project has been awarded an International Architecture Award.

The shortlist for The International Architecture Awards, organised by The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design, together with The European Center for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies, comprised of 350 projects in 2019. In 26 categories 120 laureates from 41 countries were chosen in June.

“These 120 plus buildings are what the best, new architecture looks like today,” states Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, Museum President, The Chicago Athenaeum. “This year’s shortlist highlights the amazing work done by the talented architecture visionaries whose talent and innovation have created talking points that will span generations.”

The authors of the Maarjamäe Memorial to the Victims of Communism are proud and grateful for the international recognition: “Hopefully this acknowledgement helps to bring more attention to Estonian architecture and landscape architecture as a whole.”

Among our neighbours, The International Architecture Awards in the category of schools and universities were bestowed upon the Finnish architecture bureau Verstas Architects (Aalto University Väre Building in Espoo) and the Danish architecture bureau C.F. Møller Architects (school complex The Heart in Ikast).

The exhibition of best architectural projects 2019 was opened in September 13 in Contemporary Space Athens.

The International Architecture Awards are awarded annually for the best and most impressive new architecture, landscape architecture, interiors and urban planning projects. It is the oldest, most prestigious and the only non-commercial open international architecture awards programme in the world.

The Maarjamäe Memorial to the Victims of Communism:

project: 2016 – 2017

built: 2017-2018

area: 3,8 ha

architecture and landscape architecture:

authors: Kalle Vellevoog, Jaan Tiidemann (Ninja Stuudio), Tiiu Truus (Stuudio Truus)

team: Martin Prommik, Kersti Nigols, Liis Voksepp, Annika Liivo, Marianna Zvereva

sculpture: Kirke Kangro

landscaping: Lidia Zarudnaya

graphic design: Martin Pedanik

engineering: Estkonsult, Contactus

technical solution for the memorial of the officers: Margus Triibmann +

Photo: Arne Maasik