On December 6 the annual architecture awards were presented to the most preeminent experts in the field of Estonian architecture at a gala at Kammivabrik in Tartu.

The laureates of the annual awards were announced by the Architecture Endowment, the Estonian Association of Architects, the Estonian Association of Interior Architects and the Estonian Association of Landscape Architects, concluding the year of architecture. In addition, future stars of the field, the students, were acknowledged and for the first time annual awards for architecture publication were awarded by the architecture magazine Maja and cultural newspaper Sirp.

The jury of the Architecture Endowment comprised of: interior architect Pille Lausmäe, architects Emil Urbel and Peeter Pere, landscape architect Anna-Liisa Unt, product designer and professor at the Estonian Academy of Art Merike Rehepapp, art historian Andres Kurg, urbanist Teele Pehk.

The Maarjamäe Memorial to the Victims of Communism:

project: 2016 – 2017

built: 2017-2018

area: 3,8 ha

architecture and landscape architecture:

authors: Kalle Vellevoog, Jaan Tiidemann (Ninja Stuudio), Tiiu Truus (Stuudio Truus)

team: Martin Prommik, Kersti Nigols, Liis Voksepp, Annika Liivo, Marianna Zvereva

sculpture: Kirke Kangro

landscaping: Lidia Zarudnaya

graphic design: Martin Pedanik

engineering: Estkonsult, Contactus

technical solution for the memorial of the officers: Margus Triibmann

photo: Renee Altrov